Posted in The Writing Adventure

Titles and Questions

Hello everyone who somehow found this blog! How are you doing? I hope you are having a grand and productive day.

I decided give a little update on my Work in Progress and also to tell you guys more about it. Here we go!

First of all, I picked a title! The Mortal Choice. Eerie, right? I can’t believe it took me so long to realize that this title makes the most sense since a choice to be mortal is what started it all.

Before I give too much away, meet my main character, Rehin. Rehin is half elf, half human. Because of this, she is given the choice between mortality and immortality. Convinced at an early age to choose her human side, she has set out to find a way to reverse it before it is too late. Along the way, she comes across a curious group of men and an elf. She joins them in their mission to destroy an evil power residing in the east. It’s a grand adventure, but she soon realizes that if they complete the quest, she may never gain immortality.

Whatever will she do??? What do you guys think of that? Are you interested? No?

Now that you know a little bit about my story, let me tell ya how the writing is going. As I’ve said before, I have a first draft finished. My first goal after completing it was to go back through and find places where scenes needed to be added or lengthened. I felt like I didn’t get all of the story in my head onto the paper. I just recently finished my first go through with this step. I was able to add quite a few scenes, and I also created a long list of scenes that need to happen. Now I’m just trying to figure out where they fit it. Fun times!

Also, I added a prologue and epilogue! They are both short, but they were super fun to write.

Do you have any advice on what I should do next? What do you usually do once you finish a first draft? Wow, I’m asking a lot of questions. Please feel free to comment away. Tweet me. Email me. Shoot up a bat signal. Send me a messenger hawk. However you want to contact me. (Please do that last one. That would make all my dreams come true.) I’m stuck in bed with a cold, so the communication might be good for me.

Till next time! Toodles x

 

4 thoughts on “Titles and Questions

  1. Okay. The Mortal Choice sounds awesome!! Is it more tolkien/middle ages style elves?
    It sounds like you’re right on track. I’ve been working on my second draft as well. Lots of reading through, changing voice/adding it in, adding scenes, etc.
    Have you printed it off to do a hard copy read?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

